top of page


The major schools of Islamic law.


The term madhhab (plural, madhahib) is most commonly translated as 'school', and is used to refer to institutions dedicated to the study of Islamic law (fiqh). There are four canonical Sunni schools of fiqh, the Maliki, Hanafi, Hanbali and Shafi’i, although history has seen a number of others, most of which have died out.

bottom of page